One more thing before I go…

I just drafted this letter that will be inside of my portfolio for prospective employers. This whole thing is literally a social experiment to see who can handle me and who can’t.

I mean in the end do I really want to work for an agency that finds me uninteresting? Nope. Not at all.

Enjoy.

July 9, 2010

Dear interested employer,

You made it to this stage: my work samples. For me this is great, it means that I was able to get you to like me and I didn’t have to lie or give you lots of chocolate and free alcohol. No, you like me for me, perfect. You know what they say: Birds of a feather flock together.

Some of the work in this portfolio I did for a political party, some of it I did while I was student union president, some of it I did just for fun, some I made for a start up company that I am still building and some I have designed for prospective clients for said company.

My portfolio isn’t as extensive and impressive as Bill Bernbach’s or Geroge Lois’ nor should it be. I am fresh and green, I just need an outlet to start to express my creativity and to learn. I want you to teach me and I want to bring my unique experiences and world view to you.

If this portfolio and letter weren’t enough let me know where I should mail you a box of the finest Lindor Chocolates. It may or may not be accompanied with a bottle of 1921 Dom Pérignon, its first vintage.
Please don’t make me send this gift package – I really can’t afford it right now. So just believe in me and I will make you happy that you did.

Talk soon,

Liam P. Mooney

Leave a Reply

